Treasury Releases Sh24bn to Counties

Cabinet Secretary for National Treasury and Planning, Ukur Yatani. Photo Source: [Courtesy

Nairobi, Kenya- The National Treasury has released SH24.6 billion to county governments as part of their Equitable Share.

Cabinet Secretary for National Treasury and Planning, Ukur Yatani, announced on Thursday, that his Ministry had released exchequer the previous day.

The cumulative balances for the various county governments held at the Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) amount to Sh61.4 billion.

He asked the county governments to make full and timely use of the funds as additional disbursements from the Exchequer are made in due course.

The funds come as a relief to Cash-strap counties who will now be able to pay staff, suppliers, and contractors who have endured payment delays over months.

“It’s our hope that county governments will prioritise the settlement of pending bills to suppliers as well as other statutory dues to enable concerned institutions discharge their mandates effectively,” said CS Yatani in a press statement.

The Council of Governors (COG) had made a cry, having gone for up to four months without receiving the exchequer, which resulted in the crumbling of counties’ services.

COG previously threatened to shut down services and seek legal reparation to compel the treasury to make the disbursement.

The CS admitted the county government’s concerns on funds to enable the smooth running of county services.

“Meanwhile, noting the general improvement of the economy and in particular positive revenue performance since December 2020, the National Treasury and Planning will prioritise disbursements to county governments, noting their critical obligations of service delivery to the Kenya citizens,” the CS noted.