Jay-Z is set to release Africa-themed album featuring Sarkodie, Olamide, Nasty C


American Rapper Jay-Z

United States- Rapper Jay-Z is also set to release an Africa-themed album titled ‘The Ascension,” according to reports.

With over two decades of being on the high of the rap game, releasing classics, and becoming one of the most successful musicians of all time, Jay-Z is lastly embracing his roots to drop an album that is anticipated to concentrate on the motherland (Africa).

From the tracklist details, one can tell that the Tidal CEO decided to recruit top rappers in Africa. 

The album options African stars like Olamide, Sarkodie, Femi Kuti, and Nasty C. Other featured acts on the album are Beyoncé, Rick Ross, H.E.R, and the duo of Lighthouse household.

Jay-Z, in a statement released via Roc Nation, said: “I’ve always wanted to get in touch with my roots and connect to the motherland. You know, Africa is blessed with so much talent and I felt like it was time to tap into that resource.”

“The Ascension is not just talking or focusing on Africa but it’s also about me giving back to the people, familiarizing with the culture, and connecting more with the motherland,” He added.

“The Ascension” Album– can only be streamed exclusively on Tidal in its opening weekend.

In 2019, Beyoncé came to Africa with a photorealistic animated remake of the “Lion King: The Gift” album which featured the likes of Burna Boy, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Shatta Wale, and Tekno.

Beyonce revealed that the album is her attempt to create a “love letter to Africa.”

“This soundtrack is a love letter to Africa and I wanted to make sure we found the best talent from Africa, and not just use some of the sounds and did my interpretation of it,” the singer told ABC News.

She further said, “I wanted it to be authentic to what is beautiful about the music in Africa,” she added of the album, which features drums and chants mixed with “incredible new sounds mixed with some of the producers from America…each song tells the story of the film.”


Here is the 15 song tracklist of “THE ASCENSION ALBUM” by Jay-Z.


Tracklist for “The Ascension” album